If only it was that simple

An online contact posted a status message complaining about how he had been seeing a lot of other posts with links to articles bashing attention-grabbing ploys on social media. I don’t know about the rest but I sure am a part of that crowd.

I guess his complaint was fair enough, since having a social network account means you are guilty of the same practice after all.

He went on to comment about how the problem can be solved by unfriending or unfollowing “offending” contacts to solve the problem. Makes sense, but why stop there? If social networks really stress the hell out of you, cancel the account. Common sense, right?

No.

Like in that famous Transformers tagline, there’s more to things than meets the eye.

Image

First point to consider is why the hell would I abandon a service I’m using just because of a few unsavory characters that comprise its vast population? And it’s not like these people are random strangers you arbitrarily add to your network just for the hell of it. Most are family, colleagues and people you interact with on a daily basis. And here’s the funny thing: You only find out about the person’s online behavior once you already approved (or they approved you) the ‘friend’ request. You cannot just take that back; and unless this study (click here) had been conducted by a team of monkeys, unfriending does not come across as a viable option now, does it?

There’s a simpler solution to that, and that’s controlling what you see in the newsfeed (which I’m doing). It’s a bit tricky with Twitter and close personal contacts in that service though, you have no choice but to see it. No harm done, it’s not like I’m gonna die because of it. And unfollowing unknown contacts is relatively easier in that platform as well. So in a way it balances things out.

Facebook contacts, however, are a bit more personal than Twitter.

And here’s what I found funny about the rant. Aren’t those posting the articles you’re so incensed about just doing the very thing the people you’re “defending” have done? It’s their wall, too. It’s not like they go barging in on someone’s post and saying they should take it down because it offends them. I always held on to the belief that wall posts are God-given rights bestowed to the average online user. It’s the intrusive comments on your post that’s stepping over the line.

There really are abysmally ridiculous posts. That’s why those articles were written in the first place. Everyone’s guilty of embarrassing posts. Myself, especially. It’s a cycle. You have your perps, and you have your whiners. I belong to the latter. That’s my function. So expect more acerbic posts from people like me.

I learned a long time ago that ranting like that only achieves a momentary burst of notoriety and getting attention, but good luck with changing the opinions of your supposed ‘targets’.

That’s why I won’t comment on that rant. Because the poster is entitled to it. But I’m sure as hell gonna let you know what I think about rants like that.

And I’d like to welcome the newest member to my news feed edit.

Leave a Reply

